Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Call for FREE quotes: (888) 442-5133
UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
Car insurance in Maryland operates under a set of no-fault car insurance laws and drivers are required to obtain both liability and personal injury protection insurance for any car registered in the state.
Minimum car insurance requirements are regulated by The Maryland Insurance Administration.
However, any law enforcement official and/or the Department of Motor Vehicles can issue citations, suspend your drivers’ license and/or vehicle registration tags if you fail to comply with these laws.
While car insurance laws in Maryland require all drivers to have minimum levels of liability auto insurance these requirements are still extremely low in terms of how much potential liability exposure you could have in the event of an accident.
Ready to compare car insurance quotes? Enter your zip code above to get started for FREE!
Maryland Car Insurance Requirements
Maryland has no-fault car insurance laws, which means there is no determination of guilt or “who was at fault” in a car accident.
This helps protect drivers from car accident lawyers who like to sue for every sore neck and also expedite handling of your car insurance claim as your car insurance company is obligated to pay your damages and vice-versa for the other driver.
No-fault car insurance laws are not a replacement for waiving all liability, however.
In Maryland (or any other state) you can still get sued no matter what car insurance laws are in place if the damages exceed the amount of your policy coverage.
Take a look at Maryland’s minimum car insurance requirements:
- $20,000 liability coverage per person per accident
- $40,000 liability insurance for all persons per accident
- $15,000 property damage
- Personal Injury Protection
Drivers can save $859/yr* by comparing car insurance
*based on a survey of 1,000 car insurance customers
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Do you think if you hit a vehicle and a passenger has to undergo medical surgery $20,000 will cover the cost?
Probably not, especially given the cost of health care and emergency room expenses today and anything over $20,000 you are on the hook for.
Most Maryland drivers opt for much higher limits of coverage (exceeding $100,000 for many) and only incur a small premium increase.
There are also exceptions to litigation in no-fault car insurance states if the accident was due to extreme negligence (such as excessive speeding or a purely intentional act) where you can and most likely will be sued.
Before choosing any car insurance policy you really need to understand all the types of auto insurance :
Maryland Car Insurance Quotes
Maryland has almost 120 licensed car insurance companies in the state so finding an auto insurance provider will be very easy.
Take your time and compare car insurance policies equally without focusing on premiums until the end.
Finding a good car insurer is critical to your liability and the safety of others but there is no obligation to choose any particular company.
Car insurance may be mandatory but the choice to find the best car insurance company is all yours. Enter your zip code below and start comparing quotes for FREE!