Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Call for FREE quotes: (888) 442-5133
UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
Rhode Island drivers have to carry car insurance and the penalties for driving with no car insurance in Rhode Island can be severe. Not only can drivers be subject to great personal liability but also run the risk of having their driving privileges suspended along with heavy fines.
Rhode Island Car Insurance Laws
Rhode Island car insurance laws require all vehicles to maintain minimum levels of liability insurance. In 2010 the State of Rhode Island’s minimum liability auto insurance requirements for all vehicles registered in the State are:
- $25,000 liability coverage for bodily injury per person per accident
- $50,000 liability insurance for bodily injury to all persons per accident
- $25,000 of property damage liability insurance
Rhode Island drivers are also subject to tort law which means you can be sued for damages and do not have the protection from litigation States with no-fault car insurance laws provide. This results in great additional exposure to personal liability for drivers without sufficient insurance coverage.
While Rhode Island minimum auto insurance requirements do provide some form of protection for accidents (where it was determined you were at-fault) they certainly do not provide very much financial protection for any type of accident which involves medical bills and other damages outside of minor vehicle damage. Most Rhode Island drivers opt for limits well above state minimum requirements and even choose additional types of coverage such as collision and comprehensive for a well rounded auto insurance policy.
Can I get car insurance in Rhode Island as a High Risk Driver?
Many drivers are classified as high risk by car insurance companies. While the obvious set of high risk drivers are those convicted of a DUI, convicted of driving with no car insurance in an auto accident or those with a reckless driving record there are still other reasons why any driver can be denied coverage through the voluntary market. Since auto insurance is required by law the state is also obligated to ensure people have access to purchasing automobile insurance. All states have some form of high risk insurance program to assist drivers in obtaining coverage who have been denied insurance in the voluntary market. In Rhode Island a program exists called the “Rhode Island Automobile Insurance Plan (RIAP) where the State mandates a car insurer to provide coverage. Of course drivers should never expect to get cheap car insurance quotes as a high risk driver but if you do find yourself getting denied coverage in the voluntary market then it’s a good idea to contact the Rhode Island Insurance Plan about your options.
Rhode Island Car Insurance Quotes
Car insurance comparison is the best method to find the cheapest car insurance quotes but you also need to know how to compare auto insurance companies. Start with our auto insurance guide, learn about car insurance discounts, compare auto insurance company reviews and (when you’re ready) always request quotes from multiple providers. Remember to compare the details of coverage before premiums as many times cheap car insurance quotes often reflect lower levels of coverage.
Get Started – Compare Auto Insurance in Rhode Island Today!