Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Call for FREE quotes: (888) 442-5133
UPDATED: Jun 29, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
Kansas car insurance requirements apply to all drivers, and the state operates under no-fault car insurance laws when it comes to car accident liability.
In the event of a car accident, neither driver is declared at-fault, so the respective insurance companies of the damaged parties pay for the damage.
This helps avoid a determination of guilt leading to a lower burden on the state, reduced exposure to litigation for drivers and lowered car insurance rates in theory.
The Kansas Department of Insurance regulates the Kansas insurance industry and is the government agency which publishes minimum auto insurance requirements for vehicles registered in the state.
Enter your zip code above to get FREE car insurance quotes today!
Kansas Car Insurance Requirements
Minimum auto insurance coverage and rates vary from state to state. Compare state to state below:
As published by the Kansas Insurance Department, all vehicles registered in Kansas must maintain car insurance in-force at all times.
In addition, it must meet minimum levels of coverage for liability insurance, personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured/underinsured (UIM) motorist coverage.
The minimum requirements in Kansas are:
— Liability Insurance
- $25,000 liability insurance per person per accident
- $50,000 liability insurance for all persons per accident
- $10,000 property damage insurance
— Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
- $4,500 in medical expenses per person
- $900 a month insurance coverage for any income loss or disability with 1-year minimum benefits and this coverage must also include survivor benefits)
- $25 a day for any in-home services required
- $2,000 in coverage for any death related expenses such as cremation, burial or funeral costs
- $4,500 in coverage for rehabilitation expenses
Drivers can save $859/yr* by comparing car insurance
*based on a survey of 1,000 car insurance customers
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
— Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Coverage
- $25,000 per person per accident
Kansas car insurance laws do require drivers to have more insurance in place than many other states.
Any damages above and beyond the limits of your policy will expose you to potential personal liability, so many drivers opt for much higher ceilings than state minimum requirements – many times exceeding well over $100,000 in coverage.
Your average monthly car insurance rates by coverage may be cheaper than expected for additional coverage like comprehensive. Review rates for car insurance coverage below:
The cost of such additional coverage is quite nominal, and it’s worth comparing your car insurance options to see how affordable higher limits are to your budget.
Kansas Car Insurance Companies
There are over 130 car insurance companies licensed in Kansas, so it will be easy to find an auto insurance provider no matter where you live.
However, the key to finding the best auto insurance rates will be to start a car insurance comparison search.
How does ZIP code affect auto insurance? Factors like traffic, crime, and claim frequency in your area all matter. Find out how your ZIP code compares against other zips in KS.
Many Kansas drivers look at premiums when comparing car insurance companies and this is the last step any driver should take as auto insurance is more about the details of coverage than the premiums.
Which gender and age pays more for car insurance? Drivers under 25 years old are often in the highest risk class. See if the gender stereotype (males vs female auto insurance rates) holds true in Kansas.
Six major factors affect auto insurance rates in KS. Which car insurance factors will affect your rates the most? Find out below:
Now let’s see who is the cheapest car insurance company in Kansas.
Who are the largest car insurance companies in Kansas?
Sometimes the cheapest car insurance quotes will apply only to policies with the bare minimum coverage required by law, so it’s important to look at any potential policy options in detail and then compare by cost.
Enter your zip code below to get FREE car insurance quotes today!