Georgia’s Super Speeder Law Explained
Under the Georgia Super Speeder law, drivers who travel at least 75 mph on two-lane roads or 85 mph on other roadways face steep penalties. The Super Speeder fine is $200, plus additional feed. You must pay the Super Speeder fine within 120 days to avoid license suspension and late fees.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jun 22, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right cheap car insurance coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare cheap car insurance quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
- You can become a Super Speeder based on your speed, your vehicle’s weight, and where you’re traveling in Georgia
- Any convictions you face in Georgia could also affect your driving privileges in another state
- Your car insurance rates may increase by as much as 13% if you violate Georgia’s Super Speeder law
The Georgia Super Speeder law went into effect in 2010. It is part of an effort to discourage unsafe and illegal driving in the state. Under the law, anyone who carries the Super Speeder label can expect heavy fines on top of fees related to a speeding conviction. But what is a “Super Speeder”?
You might be a Super Speeder if you travel at least 75 mph or 85 mph in the state, and there are stipulations for vehicle weights. If you earn the Super Speeder distinction, you will have 120 days past receipt of a notice to avoid extra fees and a suspended license.
Read on to know more about Georgia’s Super Speeder law. For example, how much is the fee for being a Super Speeder, and what are the penalties for not paying it on time? Also, consider the effect a Super Speeder conviction may have on your car insurance.
How does Georgia’s Super Speeder law work?
A Super Speeder is a driver who gets convicted for driving at least 75 mph on a two-lane road or 85 mph on a highway or any other roadway in Georgia. Also, commercial drivers with vehicles that weigh at least 100,000 pounds can violate the law by driving 10 mph past a posted speed limit.
The law applies to Georgia residents and visitors alike, so you should be aware of things like Georgia’s speed limits and its driver point system. You should also know how much a Super Speeder ticket in Georgia costs and how you can pay it if convicted under the law.
Georgia Speed Limits
According to Georgia Code § 40-6-181, these are the maximum speed limits based on the area:
|Type of Road||Maximum Speed Limit (MPH)|
|Any urban or residential district||30|
|An unpaved county road||35|
|A physically divided interstate highway outside of an urbanized area with a population of at least 50,000||70|
|An interstate highway inside of an urban area with a population of 50,000+||70|
|A physically divided highway without full access control||65|
|Other locations in Georgia||55|
As you can see, the highest allowable speed limit in Georgia is 70 mph. Of course, cities and municipalities can set their limits, but none may surpass 70 mph or the limits outlined in the state code, based on the area. In other words, anyone driving 75 mph should expect a speeding ticket if they get caught.
How Georgia’s Point System Works
Besides the Super Speeder fine, you need to worry about how many points you accumulate while driving in Georgia. Here is a breakdown of Georgia’s driver point system:
|§40-6-2||Disobeying a police officer||3|
|§40-6-20||Disobeying a traffic-control device||3|
|§40-6-45||Illegally passing another vehicle on a hill or curve||4|
|§40-6-54||Improperly using a designative travel lane – fourth and subsequent offense||1|
|§40-6-163||Illegally passing a school bus||6|
|§40-6-181||Traveling 15-18 mph over the posted speed limit||2|
|§40-6-181||Traveling 19-23 mph over the posted speed limit||3|
|§40-6-181||Traveling 24-33 mph over the posted speed limit||4|
|§40-6-181||Traveling at least 34 mph over the posted speed limit||6|
|§40-6-241.1||Failure to meet requirements for wireless telecommunication device usage||1|
|§40-6-241.2||Texting while driving||1|
|§40-6-248.1||Inadequately securing a load (except fresh farm produce), which results in an accident||2|
|§40-6-253||Driving while possessing an open container with an alcoholic beverage||2|
|§40-8-76||Violating child safety restraint laws – first offense||1|
|§40-8-76||Violating child safety restraint laws – second or subsequent offense||2|
Most drivers who travel 10 mph past a posted speed limit or drive “too fast for conditions” will not have points added to their Georgia driver’s license. All other traffic violations in the state will garner resident drivers three points, and it takes 15 points within 24 months to suspend a Georgia driver’s license.
Although the state will not add points to your license if you are an out-of-state driver, your home state will likely penalize you based on your infractions in Georgia.
The good news is that a Super Speeder conviction will not add extra points to your license, but you can face a suspension if you fail to pay the fine.
Fines Under the Super Speeder Law
Georgia’s Super Speeder law mandates a $200 penalty on top of any ticket and local fees for speeding in the state. (Speeding and ticket fines vary from city to city and county to county.)
Once convicted of a speeding violation, you will receive a notification about your speeding offense in the mail from the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS).
If you violate the Super Speeder law, you will have 120 days to pay the $200 fine. If you miss your deadline, Georgia will suspend your license (or driving privileges in the state for out-of-state drivers) and add a $50 reinstatement fee.
How to Pay Your Super Speeder Fine
You will need to provide the following information with your payment:
- Your date of birth
- Your driver’s license number
- The state that issued your driver’s license
- The transaction letter mailed with your notice
You can pay the fee by using one of three methods:
- Visit a DDS Customer Service Center and pay in person. You will need to present your Super Speeder notice and pay in cash or with a credit or debit card. DSS centers do not accept checks, money orders, or cashier’s checks.
- Pay by mail. You can mail a check, money order, or cashier’s check made out to the Georgia DDS along with a copy of your Super Speeder notice to Dept. of Driver Services, CLSR, P.O. Box 80447, Conyers, Georgia 30013. To pay with a credit card, you need to submit a Credit Card Authorization Form.
- Make an online payment. You can access a portal through the DDS Online Services website.
You cannot pay the Super Speeder fee in court like you would other fines related to speeding. Also, under the law, paid Super Speeder fees should go to Georgia’s trauma care hospital system.
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
How will a conviction under the Georgia Super Speeder law affect your car insurance?
As the Super Speeder distinction adds no points to your license, the charge alone might not put your car insurance at risk. That said, your car insurance company may penalize you for speeding in general, especially if your speeding results in a crash.
|Company||Clean Record||Single Speeding Violation||One Accident|
As you can see, car insurance companies may raise your rates by an average of 13% after one speeding violation and around 33% after your first accident.
Georgia’s Super Speeder Law: The Bottom Line
Whether you are visiting Georgia or a resident, keep the following in mind before you drive in the state:
- Be aware of the speed limits and local laws. Speed limits will vary among cities and counties.
- Make sure that the address on your driver’s license is current. If you fail to update your mailing address, you may not receive a notice about your Super Speeder violation in time to avoid a license suspension.
- Any traffic violation you commit in Georgia might affect your driving privileges in other states. It depends on the traffic violation, the severity, and state laws.
We hope that this look at the Georgia Super Speeder law was helpful. In the meantime, if you would like to know more about driving in Georgia, view our post on Georgia car insurance.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about car insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything car insurance-related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by car insurance experts.