FR-44 Car Insurance Coverage: What to Know
FR-44 insurance is a certificate of financial responsibility required to reinstate a drivers license after a suspension due to a DUI/DWI conviction. FR-44 insurance is required in Florida and Virginia only, and FR-44 minimum coverage requirements are higher than state minimum coverage requirements. Cheap FR-44 insurance is difficult to find because rates can be up to 45% higher than for average drivers.
Compare Cheap Car Insurance Quotes
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Feb 17, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right cheap car insurance coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare cheap car insurance quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about car insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything car insurance-related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by car insurance experts.
- An FR-44 is not technically insurance; it is a certificate of financial responsibility
- FR-44s are only required in Florida and Virginia
- The average cost to file for an FR-44 is between $15 and $25, but coverage can cost up to 45 percent more than for average drivers
What is FR-44 insurance? How much does it cost, which car insurance companies offer it, and why do you need it? Read this article for everything you need to know about FR-44 car insurance.
To find affordable FR-44 car insurance, use your ZIP code in the free tool on this page to get FR-44 car insurance quotes in your area.
What is FR-44 insurance?
FR-44 insurance (or FR 44 insurance) is not technically car insurance. Instead, it is a certificate of financial responsibility (CFR) that is often required to reinstate your driver’s license. Keep reading for more.
Where and when is an FR-44 required?
FR-44 insurance is typically necessary to reinstate your driver’s license if you’ve been convicted of certain driving violations in Florida and Virginia.
In Virginia, an FR-44 CFR is required for a number of reasons, including if you’re convicted of injuring someone while under the influence and driving while under the influence. Similarly, FR-44 insurance in Florida may be required after a driving under the influence conviction.
You can’t cancel an FR-44 insurance policy because it is required by state law (usually for at least three years). However, if it lapses, your insurer will notify the state, which could result in the re-suspension of your license.
How do you get an FR-44?
To get an FR-44, you’ll need to speak with your insurance agent. They’ll get the process started and file it with the state.
How much does an FR-44 cost?
It costs between $15 and $25 to obtain an FR-44, but because an FR-44 is an indicator of high-risk driving, finding cheap FR-44 insurance can be difficult. We don’t have average rates for FR-44 insurance, but we do have average rates for drivers with a DUI (a common reason for the FR-44 requirement) to give you a baseline. Take a look.
[table “644” not found /]
A DWI/DUI will increase your rates significantly. On average, you’ll be paying 19 percent more for coverage in Florida and 45 percent more in Virginia. And you won’t be able to pay your FR-44 coverage in installments because the state requirement is to pay it in full.
What is the minimum coverage you’re required to carry with an FR-44?
When looking for Florida or Virginia car insurance with an FR-44, you’ll find minimum liability coverage requirements are higher than for average drivers (or for drivers with an SR-22, who are only required to meet state limits).
Take a look at this table to see state minimum liability requirements compared to FR-44 minimum liability requirements.
|Coverage Type||National Average Annual Car Insurance Rates||National Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
What about FR-44 coverage requirements if you don’t own a car? You can get non-owner car insurance to meet FR-44 liability requirements, which will pay for damages you cause to other people and their property when you use a vehicle you don’t own.
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
FR-44 Insurance: The Bottom Line
An FR-44 is a certificate of financial responsibility that may be required to reinstate your driver’s license if you live in Florida and Virginia. Required insurance coverage limits are higher than for the average driver, and rates could increase by an average of 19 or 45 percent in Florida and Virginia, respectively.
Ready to buy FR-44 car insurance? Use your ZIP code to compare FR-44 car insurance rates from multiple insurers in your state to get started.