Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Call for FREE quotes: (888) 442-5133
UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Breaking Wyoming DUI laws occurs when an individual is impaired while driving a motor vehicle because they are under the influence of alcohol or any other substance. Compare cheap state car insurance by entering your ZIP code above! The state of Wyoming has strict laws concerning driving under the influence.
- Alcohol-related accidents are the #1 cause of deaths in the country.
- Over 20,000 people are killed in the United States annually as a result of alcohol-related accidents.
- About 500 people in the country are killed each week because of accidents involving alcohol.
- Around 75 people in the United States are killed each day in alcohol-related accidents.
- Over 65 percent of all fatal car accidents involving one car are because of alcohol.
- The average cost of an alcohol-related accident in Wyoming when one death occurs is $3.4 million.
- In Wyoming, the average cost suffered by a person who is injured in an accident involving alcohol is $98,000.
- Almost 20 percent of car insurance payments involving accidents relating to alcohol.
If a person is stopped and suspected of driving under the influence, they are required to agree to a breathalyzer, urine or blood test. If they refuse to take one of these tests, their driver’s license will be suspended for six months. If they refuse more than one time, their license will be suspended for 18 months. This could raise one’s insurance rates and not allow them to find cheap car insurance!
How a Driver Gets Convicted in Wyoming of a DUI
The state of Wyoming says that it is illegal for anyone to operate a motor vehicle if they have a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent or more, and if it is higher than that, they will be arrested. The law states that DUI offenses will include the last 5 years. People who are repeat offenders during the range of 5 years will face harsher penalties. Know Wyoming car insurance laws so you don’t lose money after a DUI.
In Wyoming, an individual does not need to display the common signs associated with someone who has been drinking while driving, such as slurred speech or the inability to walk a straight line. The officer only needs to give the driver a chemical test, and if the blood alcohol level is more than 0.08 percent, they can be arrested.
However, if the level is below 0.08 percent, a driver can still be arrested if they show common signs that indicate that they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Before a driver stops a driver suspected of driving under the influence, the officer is observing signs of drunk driving. These signs include:
- Driving on the shoulder
- Driving at nights with the lights off
- Running a stop light
- Running through a stop sign
Wyoming 1st Offense for a DUI
- Fine: $200 to $750 plus the cost of court
- Jail Time: No mandatory jail sentence, but it could be as long as six months
- License Suspension: 90 days license suspension, but a person might be able to apply for a probationary license
- Ignition Interlock Device: If an individual’s blood-alcohol level was above .15 percent, they will be required to have an ignition interlock device put on their vehicle before their license can be re-established
Wyoming 2nd Offense for a DUI
- Fine: $200 to $750 plus the court fees
- Jail Time: 7 days to six months
- License Suspension: 1 year and are not eligible for a probationary license
- Ignition Interlock Device: If an individual’s blood-alcohol level was above .15 percent, it is mandatory that an ignition interlock device is placed on their vehicle before their license can be reinstated
Wyoming 3rd Offense for a DUI
- Fine: $750 to $3000 plus the court fees
- Jail Time: 30 days to six months of jail time
- License Suspension: 3 years and are not eligible for a probationary license
- Ignition Interlock Device: If an individual’s blood-alcohol level was above .15 percent, it is mandatory that an ignition interlock device be placed on their vehicle before their license can be reinstated
Wyoming 4th Offense for a DUI
- Felony: It becomes a felony if it is within 5 years of the 1st offense
- Fine: Up to $10,000 plus the court fees
- Jail Time: Up to 2 years
- License Revocation: The license will be revoked for an amount of time to be determined by the courts, and an individual is not eligible for probationary license.
- Ignition Interlock Device: If an individual’s blood-alcohol level was above .15 percent, it is mandatory that n ignition interlock device be placed on their vehicle before their license can be reinstated.
- Substance Abuse Program: The offender must pay to attend a substance abuse program
DUI Arrest in Wyoming
If an individual is arrested for a DUI, they will endure two hearings. The first one will be in the criminal courts. This hearing will influence the amount of punishments and whether or not the person has to face jail time.
The Wyoming Department of Transportation will conduct the second hearing, which will decide how long a person’s driver’s license will be suspended. If you find yourself with a DUI, you might receive points according to the state’s DMV point system!
Wyoming Insurance after a DUI
Individuals who receive a DUI are required to obtain a type of insurance that is considered high risk. The car insurance companies will charge more because the person is at a higher risk of having an accident. This can be very costly; therefore, it is important for a driver to compare policies and companies to make sure that they find the best possible deal. A person needs to search around to find low cost car insurance.
Many insurance providers will even cancel a policy if a person has received a DUI. Finding a new company could be very difficult because the individual is considered risky. Therefore, they should research their options and obtain affordable car insurance quotes.
Wyoming DUI Attorneys
As soon as an individual is arrested for driving under the influence, they should notify a qualified attorney. In Wyoming, a plea bargain is not available; therefore, an attorney can help a person if they are arrested for a DUI.
A Wyoming attorney can help an individual defend themselves if they are charged with driving under the influence, so they can put this painful situation behind them. Find Wyoming car insurance by entering your ZIP code below!