Utah Car Insurance
Utah car insurance laws require drivers to carry $3,000 in Personal Injury Protection on top of the minimum liability policy of 25/65/15. This additional coverage can drive up your Utah auto insurance rates, so be sure to comparison shop online before you buy or renew your insurance policy. Enter your ZIP code below to start comparing Utah car insurance quotes for free.
Compare Cheap Car Insurance Quotes
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Oct 23, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right cheap car insurance coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare cheap car insurance quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about car insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything car insurance-related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by car insurance experts.
Car insurance laws in Utah operate under no-fault auto insurance and all drivers are required to obtain and maintain minimum car insurance coverage for any registered vehicle.
Utah Car Insurance Requirements
Minimum auto insurance coverage and rates vary from state to state. Compare state to state below:
While on the surface Utah car insurance requirements seem to provide rather sufficient coverage for most minor accidents there is still a good chance a driver could be held personally liable for car accident damages.
Statistics show that most minor car accidents only include vehicle damage and Utah’s minimum auto insurance requirements provide enough coverage for almost any minor vehicular damage. However the real threat of personal liability comes with car accidents causing total loss or physical injuries.
Medical costs can quickly surpass $25,000 and the replacement value for almost all new cars can easily exceed $25,000. Any claim for damages above and beyond your policy limits can subject you to litigation for personal liability – even in a no fault state. Utah’s current minimum car insurance requirements are:
- $25,000 liability insurance per accident (one injured person)
- $65,000 liability insurance per accident for all persons
- $3,000 in personal injury protection (PIP)
- $15,000 property damage coverage
Many Utah drivers always opt for additional coverage and expanded limits beyond state minimum requirements. The additional cost to car insurance premiums are often minimal for policy coverage exceeding well over $100,000 and can provide much greater piece of mind when operating a vehicle.
Your average monthly car insurance rates by coverage may be cheaper than expected for additional coverage like comprehensive. Review rates for car insurance coverage below:
What are the penalties for driving with no auto insurance in Utah?
Serious. Not only are you exposing your personal assets to claim in the event of an accident but should you be charged and convicted of operating a vehicle with no auto insurance the Utah DMV can suspend both your vehicle registration and your drivers license. The only way to restore your driving privileges will be to pay a fine (up to $1,000) and file a SR-22 form with the State which will automatically result in you paying 200% or more in car insurance premiums.
What is No-Fault Car Insurance?
No-fault car insurance is not a type of auto insurance but a set of laws created to help determine guilt. States with no-fault car insurance laws do not apply guilt at the scene of an accident so no driver is technically at-fault and the respective car insurance policy of each driver will pay for damages.
How does ZIP code affect auto insurance? Factors like traffic, crime, and claim frequency in your area all matter. Find out how your ZIP code compares against other zips in UT.
Which gender and age pays more for car insurance? Drivers under 25 years old are often in the highest risk class. See if the gender stereotype (males vs female auto insurance rates) holds true in Utah.
Six major factors affect auto insurance rates in UT. Which car insurance factors will affect your rates the most? Find out below:
Who is the cheapest car insurance company in UT? Review the average auto insurance rates by company below:
Who are the largest auto insurance companies in Utah?
Utah Car Insurance Quotes
Car insurance comparison is popular in Utah and with over 125 licensed auto insurers its also the only way to find the best coverage. Most people start an auto insurance comparison search online as its the easiest way to compare car insurance company reviews, rates and learn about policy coverage and discounts.
Get started – Compare Car Insurance in Utah Today!