Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Call for FREE quotes: (888) 442-5133
UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
If drivers break Tennessee DUI laws, they will need to purchase DUI insurance. Compare cheap car insurance with our ZIP code search! A driver convicted of breaking Tennessee DUI laws who currently has an insurance policy may be in danger of losing the insurance, because the car insurance company may begin to consider this person to be too high a risk and cancel the policy. Enter your ZIP code and find cheap car insurance with our comparison tool!
The other unpleasant scenario that can happen after breaking Tennessee DUI laws is the insurance company will raise their clients’ rates. Insurance companies determine how much they will charge their clients based upon driving records. If their clients obtain a DUI conviction, they become high risk drivers and the insurance companies raise their rates accordingly.
A driver who loses his insurance or has the rates raised because of breaking Tennessee DUI laws is going to need to purchase insurance from someone, and it doesn’t necessarily have to be the most expensive policy in existence. A recently convicted driver should not expect to find the cheapest car insurance rates! Drivers looking for DUI insurance who comparison shop at least four insurance companies will receive four different quotes. Amongst these quotes will be at least one that will have coverage the driver can live with for a period of time.
Sometimes, the judge will allow people convicted of breaking Tennessee DUI laws to drive to work and home only while their regular licenses have been suspended. For this reason, drivers have to purchase the mandatory minimum car insurance coverage that the state of Tennessee requires everyone carry, even though it can be difficult to find without going comparison shopping first.
Liability Insurance People Must Purchase in Tennessee
To avoid stepping even deeper into trouble, drivers convicted of breaking Tennessee DUI laws need to have:
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance of at least $25,000 for one person,
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance of at least $50,000 for more than one person,
- Property Damage Liability Insurance of $15,000 for the entire accident.
An SR-22 Filing
In order to obtain the restricted license in Tennessee, drivers will be required to present proof that they have purchased the state’s minimum requirements listed above. This means they will be required to have their insurance company file the SR-22 form with Tennessee’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Compare cheap SR-22 car insurance for FREE by entering your ZIP!
Drivers convicted of breaking Tennessee DUI laws will be required to have the SR-22 filing on their records for three to five years. If five years pass from the time that the SR-22 was required, drivers will no longer need it. If, on the other hand, drivers cancel it before the required time has expired, their licenses will be suspended. Find cheap car insurance quotes by entering your ZIP code!
DUI Insurance with an SR-22 Filing
Each insurance company charges their own set prices for the SR-22 filing. Most insurance companies can perform this service for their clients, but DUI insurance plus the need for an SR-22 filing signals to the insurance companies that there has been a conviction. The result of this assumption is a very high premium. Compare Tennessee car insurance by entering your ZIP code into our FREE search!
Blood Alcohol Level (BAC)
To be arrested for DUI in Tennessee, drivers must:
- Have a BAC of .08 or more,
- If the driver is under 21, the BAC must be equal to .02,
- Commercial drivers will be found to have a BAC of .04 or higher.
Under Tennessee DUI laws, drivers must not drive while they are impaired by these substances:
- Other intoxicants
Penalties for a DUI Conviction in Tennessee
The first offense can result in several different penalties for the driver convicted of DUI. They are:
- A jail sentence of between two days and 11 months duration
- A fine between $350 and $1,500
- A suspended license for one year
- Three days of litter removal
- Mandated alcohol education courses
In the event that the court decides the driver needs to have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) that requires the driver blow into it before the vehicle can be started, the driver will have been found to have:
- A BAC over .15
- An underage passenger in the vehicle at the time of the arrest
- Refused to give blood, breath or urine for the purposes of BAC testing
In Tennessee, it’s understood that every legal driver has given their consent to have their blood, breath or urine tested for the presence of a controlled substance. The driver has the right to refuse, but this driver will have greater consequences such as the need to have the IID as mentioned above.
If drivers decline to give their blood, breath or urine for a BAC test, the judge will order their licenses to be revoked for one year. If drivers fail to offer their fluids a second time, the court has the ability to revoke their licenses for two years. It must be kept in mind that it’s not impossible to convict a driver of DUI without the results of a BAC test. Breaking this law will also result in drivers not being able to find affordable car insurance!
If it takes more than one time to learn that driving after having ingested an intoxicant is not a good idea, subsequent arrests will subject these drivers to increasing penalties. By the time drivers have been arrested a fourth time for breaking Tennessee DUI laws, they will face:
- A class E felony which means being sentenced to jail for 150 days
- A large fine between $3,000 and $15,000
- A suspended license lasting five years to forever
- The need for the IID
Before things become as bad as they can be with a fourth conviction, drivers must seek several quotes for DUI insurance and their SR-22 filing if they need it. They will find the best deal on the cheapest type of car insurance and they will be able to keep their jobs.