Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Call for FREE quotes: (888) 442-5133
UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
Oregon car insurance laws are much higher than most state requirements. All drivers are required to obtain liability insurance, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist coverage.
The penalties for driving with no car insurance in Oregon are high. If you happen to get in a car accident while operating a vehicle with no guarantee your driver’s license will be suspended for 12 months!
Enter your zip code above to get FREE car insurance quotes today!
Oregon Car Insurance Laws
The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles and local law enforcement are responsible for administering Oregon car insurance laws.
Before registering any vehicle in Oregon you must show proof of insurance and continue to maintain auto insurance at all times which conforms to state minimum requirements.
Oregon car insurance laws require all vehicles to carry liability insurance with at least:
— Liability Insurance
- $25,000 per accident involving one injured person
- $50,000 combined liability coverage per accident
- $20,000 property damage
— PIP (Personal Injury Protection)
- $15,000 to pay reasonable and necessary medical expenses for a minimum of one year following a car accident.
Drivers can save $859/yr* by comparing car insurance
*based on a survey of 1,000 car insurance customers
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
— Uninsured Motorist Coverage
- $25,000 per accident
- $50,000 total coverage per accident
There are some vehicles exempt from these car insurance requirements such as classic cars, snowmobile, farm trailers and other non-typical private passenger vehicles so check with the Department of Motor Vehicles for a full list of exempt vehicles.
Oregon Car Insurance Rates
Oregon is a pretty reasonable state for car insurance premiums. One thing you should remember is that Oregon operates under the tort system of liability and does not have the liability protection from no-fault car insurance laws.
At first glance, Oregon car insurance requirements may seem a bit high, however, they are one of the most comprehensive sets of minimum-mandatory auto insurance requirements in the nation.
Oregon car insurance rates average around 15 percent lower than the national average, and well over 125 auto insurance providers are licensed to sell coverage.
Almost all car insurance companies offer coverage in Oregon including Fireman’s Fund, Esurance, Progressive and other well-known brands. Take your time, compare and try to find a balance between affordable premiums and a quality provider.
Enter your zip code below to get FREE car insurance quotes today!