North Dakota DUI Laws

North Dakota DUI laws like most of the country have a legal BAC limit of .08 percent. For drivers under 21, there is a no tolerance BAC limit of .02 percent. North Dakota DUI penalties for the first offense include a 90-180 days suspension of driver’s license, a fine of $250, and more. Even with one offense, you can expect your rates to increase. Find cheap car insurance after a DUI with our free comparison tool below.

Compare Cheap Car Insurance Quotes

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Tonya Sisler has a Bachelor’s Degree from the University of South Carolina in Journalism and has worked for 15+ years in management. She has also completed a proofreading certification and is currently a professional writer.

Full Bio →

Written by

Brad Larson has been in the insurance industry for more than a dozen years. He started out as a claims adjuster for a national carrier. He has since switched to the agency side of the business. Brad is licensed in all P&C lines.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Brad Larsen
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jun 4, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right cheap car insurance coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare cheap car insurance quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about car insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything car insurance-related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by car insurance experts.

According to North Dakota DUI laws, drinking and driving is always ill advised. It’s also illegal, and North Dakota has its own laws and penalties regarding the offense. In general, drivers can expect an array of undesired consequences if they choose to drive under the influence. North Dakota, like most states, has a legal drinking age of 21. However, no matter the how old a driver is, DUIs in North Dakota carry stiff punishments. One of them being that it will increase your auto insurance! Luckily, we offer a great comparison tool that can help you find affordable car insurance after a DUI!

What is a North Dakota DUI?

DUI is a commonly used abbreviation for driving under the influence. It refers to a person operating a motor vehicle, while under the influence of a mind altering substance. Breaking a DUI law is usually for alcohol, but can also include drugs, both illicit and prescription, or inhalants. Driving is a serious task that requires concentration and a clear head. Anything that affects a driver’s ability to safely operate a vehicle can lead to a DUI arrest.

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Effects of Alcohol and Substances

The following are a couple of effects that can occur with alcohol and substances:

  1. Reaction time is slowed.
  2. Concentration is impaired.
  3. Judgement is dulled.
  4. Vision may be reduced or impaired.
  5. Instills a false sense of confidence.

Why are North Dakota DUI laws needed?

In general, alcohol and other impairing substances reduce a person’s ability to drive a vehicle in several ways.When drivers are suffering from any of these impairments, they are not only endangering themselves, but passengers and other drivers as well. Alcohol related crashes can result in loss of life, catastrophic injuries, and property damage. All of these things are terrible in and of themselves, but they also mean extra costs for taxpayers. This is why DUI laws exist, to protect citizens from the ill effects of impaired driving. Impaired driving will not only effect your life and other people’s lives, but it can also keep you from getting the right amount of full coverage car insurance!

North Dakota DUI Laws

The following are some North Dakota DUI laws that are enforced by the state. People should follow these rules, in order to keep their North Dakota insurance low!

  • Legal Limit for BAC (Blood Alcohol Content): 0.08%
  • Zero Tolerance BAC Limit (applies to drivers under the legal drinking age of 21): 0.02%
  • Aggravated BAC for enhanced penalties: 0.18%
  • In North Dakota, consent to a BAC test is implied.
  • North Dakota also has a zero tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving.

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

North Dakota DUI Penalties

First Offense:

  1. 90-180 days suspension of driver’s license (work permit possible after 30 days)
  2. $250.00 minimum fine
  3. Auto insurance rate increase
  4. Mandatory referral to a facility for alcohol evaluation

Second Offense:

  1. 1-2 years suspension of driver’s license, with no work permit
  2. $500.00 minimum fine
  3. 5 days in jail or 30 days of community service
  4. Mandatory referral to a facility for alcohol evaluation

Third Offense:

  1. 2-3 years suspension of driver’s license
  2. $1000.00 minimum fine
  3. 60 days in jail
  4. Mandatory referral to a facility for alcohol evaluation

Fourth Offense:

  • 2-3 year suspension of driver’s license
  • 180 days in jail

Fifth Offense:

  • A fifth DUI offense in North Dakota is considered a Class C felony
  • $5000.00 maximum fine
  • Maximum sentence of 5 years in jail

How DUI Affects Auto Insurance Coverage and Rates

  • Drivers who receive even one DUI can expect their auto insurance rates to increase.
  • The conviction will often affect rates for a period of 3-5 years after it happens.
  • Rates may double, triple, or quadruple, depending on the car insurance company‘s policies.
  • It is possible that the insurance company may drop the driver on the occurrence of the first DUI conviction.
  • Finding coverage after being dropped by one insurance company may prove very difficult.

North Dakota DUI Statistics

Below are some of the North Dakota DUI accident statistics. There are also some great car insurance accident statistics that people should take a look at. In order to save the most money, everyone should know their local car insurance laws!

  • Crashes occuring in the North Dakota cost the state over $300 million in expenses each year
  • The average societal cost of acohol related crashes in the state is 80 cents per drink consumed
  • Every injured person who survives an alochol related crash costs the state about $67,000, including health care and loss of productivity
  • Alcohol related crashes are responsible for about 14% of all North Dakota insurance payments

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Final North Dakota Thoughts

North Dakota, like all states, would benefit greatly from a reduction in DUI arrests and convictions. The only way to achieve this is if drivers stop operating motor vehicles when they are not equipped to do so. A reduction of only 10% of alcohol related crashes in North Dakota would save the state around $7 million. It would also save countless hours of lost productivity, low car insurance premiums for state residents, and keep the roads safer for drivers. Operating a motor vehicle is not to be taken lightly , and drivers would be wise to refrain from driving under the influence, both for their own safety, and the safety of others. Compare state car insurance and save with our ZIP code comparison tool!

Compare Cheap Car Insurance Quotes

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption