FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
After having broken New Mexico DUI laws, formerly safe drivers will be considered to be high risk. Know New Mexico DUI laws and find cheap car insurance for FREE with our ZIP code search! Being a high risk means higher premiums in every circumstance. Sometimes, the rates are too high to even begin to pay. In those cases, people often give up and believe they have no hope of being able to find affordable auto insurance. This doesn’t have to be the case if these drivers know where to look. But the first thing people need to know is how they can get into this type of trouble in the first place. Compare ZIP codes and begin to compare car insurance quotes TODAY!
New Mexico DUI Laws
In order to break New Mexico DUI laws, drivers must do one of three things in this state:
- Have a blood alcohol content (BAC) equal to .08 or above.
- Have a BAC equal to .02 or more if under the age of 21.
- Have a BAC equal to .04 while driving a company vehicle.
When drivers are stopped by a law enforcement officer for suspicion of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) they will be required to give either their blood, breath or their urine for the purposes of chemical testing. Under New Mexico DUI laws, drivers have already given their implied consent to submit to the chemical test; they aren’t allowed to refuse it.
Refusal to Submit to the Chemical Test
Sometimes, drivers do refuse to take the test and on those occasions they will suffer the mandatory consequences as written in New Mexico DUI laws. Refusing to submit to the chemical test means the driver will be charged with the crime of Aggravated DWI and they will lose their driving privileges for one year. Compare state car insurance with our ZIP code search and save after receiving a DUI!
License Revocations According to New Mexico DUI Laws
According to New Mexico DUI laws, the driver’s licenses of everyone stopped for suspicion of DWI will receive notice that their licenses have been revoked within 20 days of their arrests. This occurs when people who have submitted to the chemical test have BACs equal to .08 or higher; if under 21, the BACs will have registered a .02 or higher.
The Time Period for License Revocation
The notices will inform people arrested for breaking New Mexico DUI laws that their licenses will remain revoked for a period of six months if they are over the age of 21. If the driver is under the age of 21, the revocation will last one entire year. Those who have been found to have a BAC of .04 or higher while driving their companies’ vehicles have their licenses revoked for one year. Drivers with previous revocations on their records will be without their licenses for one year.
Drivers who break New Mexico DUI laws will be required to purchase SR-22 insurance. SR-22 insurance policies can be highly expensive because it is required of people who have been convicted of DUI offenses. These types of drivers are now high risk drivers, and insurance companies charge high risk drivers the most in auto insurance rates.
The Riskiest Population for Auto Insurance Companies
The riskiest population auto insurance companies can consider insuring are those who have broken New Mexico DUI laws. According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), alcohol is a factor in 30 percent of the car collisions that occur during the week. On the weekends, this number skyrockets to 51 percent!
If drivers have shown a willingness to drive after drinking, the insurance companies begin to see these people as risk-takers who are highly likely to be involved in a car collision. For this reason, after the insurance company is informed that a client has been convicted of breaking New Mexico DUI laws, they significantly raise their premiums.
When people who have broken New Mexico DUI laws discover how much more money they need to pay in premiums, they stop paying. A person with a DUI on their driving records is someone who should not think about driving without insurance but sometimes, they don’t see an alternative. They make their situations much worse by doing this.
Another sign of being a risk-taker is to drive without auto insurance which is required in every state in the country. When a person who has broken New Mexico DUI laws finally decides to purchase auto insurance, the insurance company will discover that this applicant let his insurance lapse and has been driving without it. Anyone who does this is seen as a high risk and given high insurance rates, but it has even more devastating consequences for a person convicted of breaking New Mexico DUI laws.
Compare Quotes for the Lowest Insurance Rates
The last thing people who have broken New Mexico DUI and car insurance laws should expect their insurance to increase. Their car insurance companies may not raise their rates; they may decide to cancel the policies altogether. This is not an excuse to begin to drive without at least liability coverage either. Especially since these people can find auto insurance for a reasonable price by comparing quotes.
Not all insurance companies seek to continue punishing people who have broken New Mexico DUI laws with the highest rates. They understand that people make mistakes and they need to begin following New Mexico’s laws by purchasing the state’s minimum requirements for liability insurance. These companies will offer DUI insurance along with the SR-22 filing which demonstrates to the DMV that they have purchased liability coverage. Enter your ZIP code to find cheap SR22 insurance!
Our ZIP code search makes the entire process very easy for people who have broken New Mexico DUI laws. The comparison website has a roster of insurance companies that offer the coverage they need. The website submits their clients’ information to these companies and they give these people free quotes. They have no obligation to purchase the insurance; they can just compare quotes to find the best one. Compare New Mexico car insurance by entering your ZIP code!