Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Call for FREE quotes: (888) 442-5133
UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
Driving under the influence of alcohol or any other drug is potentially deadly and that is the reason for many Kansas DUI laws. Numerous fatal crashes each year are related to the impairment of judgment and reaction time that results from alcohol and drugs. The severe Kansas DUI laws discourage drivers from repeating the offense of drinking and driving. Kansas does not give any leeway to those that risk their lives and others by drinking and driving. Find cheap car insurance after a DUI with our comparison search!
The Kansas DUI laws are clear about which actions are illegal and which are not considered drinking and driving. Like most states, the main laws regarding drinking and driving relate to the blood alcohol content or BAC in the driver’s blood. Many state car insurance laws are in regards to DUIs also!
- Kansas has an implied consent law. This means that any time an officer suspects that a driver is drunk, he or she can request a breathalyzer, urine test or blood test. The law also relates to other drugs.
- Any individual who has a BAC level of 0.08 percent or higher is considered a drunk driver and is illegally operating a motor vehicle.
- Commercial drivers may not have a BAC higher than 0.04 percent in the state of Kansas.
- Any BAC level of 0.15 percent or higher is an elevated BAC and is subject to higher consequences due to the aggravated risk.
- In the state of Kansas, anyone below 21 years of age who has a BAC of 0.02 or higher is illegally operating the vehicle.
Consequences for a Kansas DUI
The consequences that occur after a DUI are meant to discourage individuals from repeating the offense.
- The first DUI offense in Kansas is a misdemeanor. It results in at least 48 hours to 6 months of jail time or 100 hours of community service. All first time offenders are fined between $500 and $1000 and lose their driver’s license for 30 days. After the initial 30 days, DUI offenders in Kansas have a restricted license for 330 days.
- A second DUI offense results in at least 90 days to one year of jail time. The fine for a second offense in Kansas is between $1,000 and $1,500. The license is suspended for one year and then an ignition interlock system is set up for one more year.
- The third offense is a felony. Drivers receive 90 days to one year of jail time and are fined $2,500. After their release from jail, drivers have one year of supervision and are not allowed a driver’s license for one year. After the one year suspension on a driver’s license, an ignition interlock system is set up.
- The fourth DUI offense is similar to the third and has the same consequences. If a fifth DUI occurs, the fines and jail time are the same as a third and fourth offense; however, a license is permanently revoked after the fifth offense.
- Regardless of the offense, drivers are given a mandatory alcohol evaluation and must enter a treatment program.
- Drivers are also required to take an alcohol and drug safety action education course that costs between $150 and $300.
Any driver who has a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher might have further consequences than those who drive below 0.15 percent. Depending on the situation, a judge will determine the appropriate penalties in this situation.
According to the Kansas DUI laws, if a minor below the age of 14 was in the vehicle while it was being operated by a drunk driver, the driver is subject to one more month of incarceration. A DUI can keep you from getting an affordable car insurance. Luckily, we can help you save with our ZIP code search!
Injuries often result from drunk driving. Of the approximately 42,000 deaths that occur each year in the United States from car crashes, around 16,000 are due to drunk driving. If injuries or a death occurs as the result of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, harsh punishments often occur. The car accident statistics of the United States are due to many DUIs. Car insurance accident statistics can be seen and are usually a result of a DUI. Make sure your car safety ratings are high. This will protect you and allow for lower car insurance rates!
The exact punishments differ depending on the extent of the injuries and the situation. A judge will determine an appropriate punishment after a conviction.
Car Insurance Rates for DUI
Insurance rates will rise as the result of a DUI conviction. Some car insurance companies might discontinue coverage and finding a new insurer is often challenging. The amount a rate will increase differs for each company, so anyone who is convicted of a DUI in Kansas should discuss the situation with their current car insurance provider.
Kansas SR22 Insurance Paperwork
After a DUI offense, Kansas car insurance will require proof of financial responsibility through a SR22 form. Find cheap SR22 insurance by entering your ZIP code! The form is filled out by the current auto insurance provider to the Department of Revenue. By filling out the form, the insurance company shows that the convicted driver has taken out an insurance policy that meets the minimum state insurance requirements.
The driver must pay for the SR22 insurance and is not allowed to lapse in payments. If a payment is late, the insurance company is obligated to inform the Department of Revenue. Any time a payment is made late, the Department of Revenue will revoke the license. If this occurs, drivers must pay the insurance premiums and have the insurer re-file the SR22 form with the Department to regain driving privileges.
SR22 insurance is mandatory in the state of Kansas after a DUI conviction. If it is not provided, the state will not provide a restricted license or reinstate a license. Once it is purchased and filled out by the insurer, a restricted license or a new driver’s license is issued to the driver.
Driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol is risky for anyone involved. The Kansas DUI laws give hefty fines, enforce jail time, suspend licenses, require alcohol and drug evaluation or treatment and give community service to discourage drivers from drinking and driving. By punishing DUI convicts harshly, the state helps prevent further deaths caused by drunk drivers. Find cheap car insurance quotes by comparing the top companies! We can help you save greatly!