Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Call for FREE quotes: (888) 442-5133
UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
If you ever broken any of the Idaho DUI laws, then you know that you can suffer greatly. Don’t suffer and compare Idaho car insurance for FREE with our search! Idaho DUI laws are designed to keep drivers safe while commuting and the police within the state as well trained to catch drunk driving or driving under the influence of any substance. Since around 39 percent of all fatal crashes in the state of Idaho are caused by driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs, the police take DUI offenses seriously and the laws are very strict. Save on your auto insurance with our FREE comparison tool! Enter your ZIP code and compare car insurance quotes INSTANTLY!
- Police officers have the right to request that any driver they suspect is driving under the influence take a breathalyzer test. Any time an officer suspects that you are driving under the influence of other drugs, he or she can request a drug test to determine other influences on driving.
- Any driver who has a blood alcohol concentration or BAC of 0.08 percent or higher after blowing into a breathalyzer is illegally operating a vehicle in the state of Idaho.
- Those under 21 years old who have a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher are breaking the law by driving a car.
- Commercial vehicle operators are not allowed to have a BAC of 0.04 percent or higher within the state of Idaho.
Idaho DUI Consequences
Understanding what the laws are regarding DUIs in the state of Idaho is only one aspect of the state laws. The consequences and car insurance laws are another key point to consider.
- Any individual who refuses to take a breathalyzer test when requested by an officer will lose his or her driver’s license for one year and is required to pay a $250 fine.
- The first DUI is considered a misdemeanor offense and goes on your permanent record. On the first DUI offense, drivers lose their license for 90 to 180 days and might face up to six months in jail. All first time offenders are required to pay a fine up to $1000 in Idaho.
- After a second violation, drivers spend a mandatory ten day sentence in jail. A judge can give up to one year jail time for a second DUI offense. After the jail time for a second DUI, drivers lose their license for one year with no driving privileges and an ignition interlock is mandatory. A second offense is fined up to $2,000 in Idaho.
- A third DUI is a felony offense in Idaho. It results in an up to $5,000 fine. The jail time for a third DUI is at least 30 days and up to five years in state prison. After release from jail after a third DUI offense, drivers lose their driving privileges for at least one year and up to five years.
In the state of Idaho, any blood alcohol concentration level of 0.20 percent or higher is considered an elevated offense. If BAC levels are 0.20 percent or more, consequences are more severe than the basic consequences.
First time offenders with a BAC of 0.20 percent or higher commit a misdemeanor offense and are fined up to $2,000 and must spend at least 10 days to one year in jail. After a first time offender is released from jail, he or she loses driving privileges for one year.
If a second offense of driving with a BAC of 0.20 percent or higher occurs, it is a felony offense. Offenders must pay a fine up to $5,000. After a second offense, drivers spend at least 30 days in jail or up to five years in a state penitentiary. Upon release from jail after a second offense, drivers have a mandatory one year license suspension. Some drivers might receive up to five years of suspension depending on the judge and situation.
A driving record shows the offense for a specific number of years. In the state of Idaho, a basic DUI offense that occurs within 10 years of each other are consider first and second offenses and both offenses appear on the record. If more than ten years pass between the first and second DUI, the state will consider the second DUI as a first. The first DUI no longer shows on an updated driving record after ten years. Check the DUI Guide to insure you know all of the DUI laws.
Drunk driving is one of the leading causes of fatal car accidents. In Idaho, 39 percent or more of fatal crashes result from a driver who is under the influence of either alcohol or other drugs. Any driver who is driving under the influence and causes a crash will face further consequences due to the injuries.
The exact punishment for injuries, accidental death or other crashes a drunk driver causes vary depending on the extent of the injuries and the situation. A judge will determine the appropriate punishment after giving a fair trial for the situation.
Car insurance rates are influenced by numerous considerations, and one could find themselves not being able to find cheap car insurance rates. One key component to the rate of insurance is a personal driving record. Any individual in the state of Idaho who is convicted of a DUI offense will find that their Idaho insurance rates increase dramatically or the insurer is no longer willing to provide coverage.
When looking for a new car insurance provider after a DUI offense, many companies will charge high prices or will remain hesitant to offer insurance. A DUI offense is considered a risk for the insurance company. For this reason, one can expect to pay quite a bit for DUI car insurance!
Idaho DUI laws are designed to help keep drivers safe. The laws might seem strict due to the high fines, jail time and the restrictions on driving after an offense occurs, but the result of the harsh punishment is fewer drunk drivers on the roads. Understanding and respecting the laws will lower the accidental fatalities that result from drinking and driving. If you are convicted of a DUI, you should take the time to find cheap car insurance! Using our FREE comparison tool could save you tons of money!