Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Call for FREE quotes: (888) 442-5133
UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Driving under the influence in Hawaii is known to local law enforcement as OVUII or operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant. Per Hawaii DUI laws, a person who has been drinking or using mind-altering substances can actually fall afoul of the law in one of two ways. The first way is for that person’s blood alcohol content (BAC) to show .08 or above. The second way is for a police officer to claim that the person’s driving was impaired, even if the BAC was not above the legal limit. This all will lead to higher car insurance quotes once you go to your insurance company! Luckily, we are here to help you compare cheap car insurance quotes and save money on a costly decision! Enter your ZIP code and compare car insurance for FREE!
If your BAC exceeds .08, you are over the legal limit for driving. Drivers need to be aware that .08 is only a small amount of alcohol in the system. A short, thin woman’s BAC could show .08 or above after only a couple of drinks. Most people who test .08 are not falling down drunk. Since a OVUII can be embarrassing and expensive, it’s wisest to select a designated driver if you’re going to a place where alcohol is served. The designated driver should not drink any alcohol at all.
Hawaii DUI Laws – How many convictions?
If you are charged with OVUII in the state of Hawaii, the judge is allowed to look at your entire driving history for the last five years. If you have been convicted of driving under the influence anywhere, not just in Hawaii, your record is taken into account during sentencing. For instance, if you only have one OVUII conviction in Hawaii, but you have had two DWI convictions in Kansas in the past five years, the judge will impose the mandatory sentence for third time offenders. This will certainly raise your Hawaii car insurance!
Hawaii DUI Laws – Penalties
For a first OVUII offense in the state of Hawaii, you are charged with a misdemeanor. Sentencing includes
- 48 hours to five days in jail
- A fine ranging from $150 to $1000
- A license suspension of 30 to 90 days (6 months if your BAC was higher than .15)
- Trauma Fund Surcharge of $25 to $50
- 72 hours of community service
- Court-ordered substance abuse treatment or education.
A second OVUII remains a misdemeanor, but the penalties are harsher.
- Five to 14 days in jail
- A fine ranging from $500 to $1500
- License suspension of one year
- Trauma Fund Surcharge of $50 to $75
- 240 hours community service.
- Court-ordered substance abuse treatment or education
The third OVUII remains a misdemeanor, but again the penalties increase.
- Ten to 30 days in jail
- A fine ranging from $500 to $2500
- License suspension from one to five years
- Forfeiture of the vehicle
- Trauma Fund Surcharge of $50
- 240 hours (minimum) of community service
- Court-ordered substance abuse treatment or education.
The fourth OVUII is regarded as a Class C felony, and could result in a prison sentence of up to five years, fines, probation, and the loss of license for a minimum of one year.
New Hawaii DUI Laws
As of January, 2011, the states DUI laws saw anyone convicted with a OVUII will have to install an interlock ignition device in their cars. This device prevents the driver from starting the car if his or her BAC shows intoxication. This device costs around $80 to install, and the driver must also pay a leasing fee of $90 per month. As long as this device is in place, however, the individual is allowed to drive with a temporary permit.
Hawaii DUI Laws – Implied Consent
By operating a car or another motor vehicle in the state of Hawaii, the state deems that you have implicitly agreed to have your breath, urine, or blood tested for alcohol if a police officer requests it. Failure to comply with the officer’s request will result in the loss of your driver’s license for up to a year.
What about car insurance?
After the second offense, Hawaii DUI laws require a person to carry SR-22 car insurance for at least three years after his or her drunk driving conviction. SR-22 is actually a form filed by the insurance company with the DMV stating that the insurance company has issued the high-risk driver with the minimum amount of liability insurance he or she needs to drive a car or other motor vehicle in the state.
SR-22 insurance if often more expensive due to the fact that the insurance company considers the driver high risk. There are, though, some reasonably priced plans that will keep you on the road after a OVUII. Compare cheap auto insurance quotes today, and you will see that you do have options for obtaining the car insurance you need.
The good news is that accident fatalities related to alcohol have declined more than 50% since 1982, almost thirty years ago. The bad news is that lowest number of fatalities occurred in 1999, and since then the numbers have started to creep back up. In 2006, for instance, 40% of all traffic fatalities involved at least one person with a BAC over .08. Don’t become one of the statistics! Drive safe! Make sure you compare car insurance companies for the ultimate savings on car insurance!
Enter your ZIP code and find the cheapest car insurance for FREE!