FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
After breaking Connecticut DUI laws, drivers may need to hire the services of a DUI attorney. The time when this may not be necessary is when it’s a first offense, and the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) was not very high. But there are times when a DUI attorney may be very useful to help reduce their penalties and in the process, keep their auto insurance rates lower. Enter your ZIP code and get FREE car insurance quotes!
People who have broken Connecticut DUI laws who do need to think of hiring legal representation for a first offense include:
- Those who were found to have a very high BAC.
- Those who were driving drunk with a minor as a passenger.
- Those who were also charged with reckless driving.
Those who have broken Connecticut DUI laws for a second time or more don’t have a choice in this matter. The DUI attorney can work to reduce the charges and the consequences these people are facing by breaking the DUI laws.
Know the Penalties for Breaking Connecticut DUI Laws
Before hiring legal representation, people need to understand what they are up against. Knowing these facts will help them decide if hiring legal representation will benefit them and save on Connecticut car insurance. The penalties that people can receive when they break Connecticut DUI laws will be:
- At least a two day jail sentence that could be as high as six months,
- The necessity to complete 100 hours of community service if the court suspends the mandatory jail sentence,
- A fine between $500 and $1,000,
- A one year license suspension,
- The need to submit to treatment for substance abuse,
- To have the vehicle impounded for a period of two days.
The Second Connecticut DUI Offense
The second time drivers are convicted of breaking Connecticut DUI laws they are facing a four month to two-year jail sentence, a fine between $1,000 and $4,000 and a suspended license for one year. They will need to attend substance abuse treatment, have to complete at least 100 hours of community service and have their vehicles impounded for two days. After the license has been reinstated, these drivers will require an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for two years.
The Third Connecticut DUI Offense
After a third time breaking Connecticut DUI laws, people will lose their driving privileges forever. The penalties for a third conviction are a jail sentence of at least one year, three years maximum, a fine between $2,000 and $8,000, a permanent suspension of the driver’s license and at least 100 hours of community service.
Penalties for a third offense are very serious and anyone facing their third conviction may not have a choice as to whether or not they will hire legal representation. Unless it doesn’t matter that they will lose their licenses forever, these people will need to have someone help them mitigate the impact they may feel from these consequences.
After breaking Connecticut DUI laws, people have extreme difficulties finding cheap auto insurance. Insurance companies will either refuse to insure these people, or they will charge them astronomical rates. Auto insurance rates are just one reason that people need to consider hiring legal representation to lessen the charges they will face. The highest charges will give them the highest auto insurance.
Those who currently have auto insurance may see an increase from 20 percent to 50 percent in their auto insurance rates after a DUI conviction with most people receiving a 30 percent raise. For example, the average car insurance rate is $1,400. A 20 percent raise would increase it to $1,680, and a 50 percent raise would increase it to $2,100; a 30 percent increase on the average becomes $1,800.
Compare Quotes for Cheaper DUI Insurance
The above numbers are high prices to pay for auto insurance and drivers may want to consider purchasing a policy from another car insurance company. Drivers who have broken Connecticut DUI laws have the opportunity to purchase cheaper auto insurance from another company if they perform a comparison quote search with the help of a comparison website.
It’s possible to be offered lower rates for auto insurance after a DUI because some auto insurance companies understand that everyone has to have auto insurance in order to drive. One should take the time to check out our cheap SR22 insurance. They also know that their competition is taking advantage of the fact that they can charge incredibly high rates for those who have DUIs on their driving records. The competition encourages insurance companies to offer lower quotes to increase the numbers of people in their client bases.
Reasons to Use a Comparison Website
Now that people who have broken Connecticut DUI laws know that they have a place to turn when they need more affordable DUI auto insurance, they can seek to receive their quotes. If they don’t use a comparison website, they will waste a lot time on the telephone trying to find an insurance company that will insure them with DUIs. Remember that not everyone will offer insurance to these people. Also, make sure to check companies DUI Guide and find the best ways to save money!
The comparison website will do all the work for their clients for free. They will send their clients’ information directly to the insurance companies that offer auto insurance to drivers with DUIs. These drivers will receive several quotes from auto insurance companies and among the group will be those that aren’t charging the highest rates.
Being charged with a DUI after breaking Connecticut DUI laws doesn’t have to be the end of the world. If it’s not necessary to have legal representation, it will be necessary to compare auto insurance quotes for the cheapest DUI auto insurance. Those with repeat offenses will have to have representation, but they also have the potential to be quoted reasonable and affordable rates by doing a comparison search. At least this part of this whole process won’t be difficult and it’s also free. Enter your ZIP code today and compare cheap auto quotes TODAY!