Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Call for FREE quotes: (888) 442-5133
UPDATED: Jun 26, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
Connecticut car insurance requirements are set by the Connecticut Department of Insurance which currently requires all drivers to have minimum levels of liability coverage before while operating a vehicle.
Minimum auto insurance coverage and rates vary from state to state. Compare state to state below:
Driving with no car insurance in Connecticut is illegal and may subject the driver to hefty fines and drivers license suspension among other penalties.
While other states have over 100 licensed car insurance companies the Connecticut auto insurance market is much smaller with just over 50 auto insurance providers.
However, even with a smaller list of auto insurance providers, CT drivers can still find affordable car insurance from many different providers.
Enter your zip code above to get FREE car insurance quotes today!
Connecticut Car Insurance Requirements
All vehicles registered in the State of Connecticut must have liability insurance with at least 20/40/10 coverage.
Your average monthly car insurance rates by coverage may be cheaper than expected for additional coverage like comprehensive. Review rates for car insurance coverage below:
These numbers represent the minimum levels of liability coverage which can be further defined as:
- $20,000 of liability coverage per person per accident
- $40,000 of liability coverage for all persons per accident
- $10,000 of property damage insurance
Most Connecticut drivers opt for additional coverage beyond state minimum requirements as Connecticut operates under the tort system and does not have any no-fault car insurance laws in place.
This means the potential for liability is much higher if you are at-fault in a car accident, not to the mention the cost medical expenses which could easily surpass these minimum levels of coverage in even only a minor accident.
How does ZIP code affect auto insurance? Factors like traffic, crime, and claim frequency in your area all matter. Find out how your ZIP code compares against other zips in CT.
Which gender and age pays more for car insurance? Drivers under 25 years old are often in the highest risk class. See if the gender stereotype (males vs female auto insurance rates) holds true in Connecticut.
Drivers can save $859/yr* by comparing car insurance
*based on a survey of 1,000 car insurance customers
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Should I purchase more than the minimum car insurance required by law?
Liability insurance only provides coverage for damages or injuries sustained to other people from accidents where you are determined to be at fault.
Liability insurance does not pay for damages to your vehicle or injuries sustained by you, so it’s critical you consider other types of coverage in addition to Connecticut minimum requirements.
Consider purchasing Comprehensive/Collision insurance, GAP insurance, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Six major factors affect auto insurance rates in CT. Which car insurance factors will affect your rates the most? Find out below:
Now let’s see who is the cheapest car insurance company in Connecticut.
Who are the largest auto insurance companies in CT?
Enter your zip code below to get FREE car insurance quotes today!