Compare Car Insurance Companies and Save! -- Compare Car Insurance Quotes Now!

cheap car insurance quotes

or call CLOSED for free quotes

North Dakota Car Insurance

North Dakota drivers enjoy the privilege of No-Fault Car Insurance laws but are also subject to car insurance requirements which require a lot more coverage than most states. While many drivers already have a car insurance policy well exceeding North Dakota minimum requirements it’s a good idea to become familiar with North Dakota car insurance laws.

North Dakota Car Insurance Laws

No-fault car insurance is not a type of insurance. This is where a lot of drivers get confused. While a few states offer drivers an option to choose between no-fault and traditional tort laws when purchasing an auto insurance policy North Dakota is not one of them. All drivers in North Dakota operate under the same set of laws regardless of what policy coverage they have.

No-Fault car insurance basically means that no driver is technically at-fault therefore the insurance company of each damaged party will pay for damages to their insured policyholder regardless of who was at-fault. No-fault car insurance laws essentially reduce the need to find any driver at-fault and help expedite claims while also reducing exposure to litigation. There are many exemptions (such as if a driver was operating a vehicle under extreme negligence) but most minor accidents simply involve both parties submitting a claim to their own insurance companies and walking away.

North Dakota Car Insurance Requirements

Minimum car insurance requirements in North Dakota currently (2010) require all vehicles to carry and maintain the following minimum levels of auto insurance coverage:

Bodily Injury Liability

  • $25,000 per accident (single injured / damaged person)
  • $50,000 combined coverage per accident for all persons

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

  • $25,000 per person (single injured / damaged person)
  • $50,000 combined coverage per accident for all persons

Underinsured Motorist Coverage

  • $25,000 per person (single injured / damaged person)
  • $50,000 combined coverage per accident for all persons

PIP- Personal Injury Protection

  • $30,000 per person – Also known as No-Fault Basic Car Insurance

What are the Penalties for Driving with No Car insurance in North Dakota?

While the fine is rather minimal ($150) the exposure to personal liability is still great in no-fault insurance states so you need to consider auto insurance. Just because the name of the car insurance laws in North Dakota are labeled “no-fault” this certainly does not mean a driver can not be sued. If you happen to be operating a vehicle with no car insurance and get in a car accident then the State will automatically suspend your license.

Who has the Best Car Insurance Rates in North Dakota?

This is a very hard question to answer however North Dakota has over 100 licensed car insurance companies who offer coverage so it’s pretty safe to say the best auto insurer for you may not be the best for your neighbor. Car insurance comparison is the best way to find an auto insurer. You may be surprised to learn that a number of auto insurers all offer comparable products so take your time and do some research. Especially try to speak with friends and relatives about their personal experience with one car insurance company or the other – however make note that if they have never filed a claim then they probably have only even spoken to the friendly customer service people. Recommendations from other drivers who been through the claim process should always play a much larger role than someone who simply tells you they sound nice over the phone.

Get Started – Compare Car Insurance Quotes Today!